squeeze me, pleeze!

20130321-110308.jpg

©Dréa Peters 2013

Did you know what a hug (real or imagined) can do for you?!

Tara Brach: “When I teach meditations for the heart, I often ask my students to visualize being held by a loved one and/or to offer gentle self-touch as part of the practice. Research shows that a twenty-second hug stimulates production of oxytocin, the hormone associated with feelings of love, connectedness, and safety.

Yet, we don’t need to receive a physical hug to enjoy this benefit: Either imagining a hug, or feeling our own touch—on our cheek, on our chest—also releases oxytocin. Whether through visualization, words, or touch, meditations on love can shift brain activity in a way that arouses positive emotions and reduces traumatic reactivity.” (source)

Where attention goes, energy flows: We have the capacity to cultivate an inner refuge of safety and love.

The human body is AMAZING!

squeeze me, pleeze!
signature

3 thoughts on “squeeze me, pleeze!

  1. I want to hug your essence. You go girl! Keep doing it for the real DIY mufu$$as keeping it real out here in these streets.

    Love, peace, and chicken grease!

    Big ups to all my real interior designers holding it down in Riker’s Island right now.

  2. Oooh, my “adventurous side” would love to explore some of what “G” is describing above, if you know what I mean…

    Drea Peters strikes again, encompasses what having a college degree and a creative streak is all about!!!

    Girl, are you accepting intern applications? If you say yes, I would be the envy of Bedford Ave!

drop me a note!

